I am learning the error of my ways

As I am packing everything and getting ready to move to the boat, I noticed that I have a LOT of stuff that is really pointless in having. Of course, you might notice the same in your house if you packed up your entire house into a boat. The main cabin area will be as big as our back porch… with a stove, counter, fridge, sink and dinette in it. It is going to make RV’s look luxuriously spacious. It’s going to be one of those moments where I step foot inside and say “Holy FUCK! why do I have all this stuff?” and then promptly unpack and get rid of more stuff. But at least I am getting the idea down pat.

To help you visualize what this entails, run to Lowe’s and by 3 boxes for dishes (medium sized boxes), 2 for books (smaller boxes) and 2 large boxes that are for clothes (Large boxes). Now, everything you are going to keep (minus clothes) has to fit within those 7 boxes. That’s not just YOUR stuff. That is the kids stuff too! Everyone! Now, we have a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom mobile home with a storage shed outside and we’ve lived her for 7 years… 8 years? I don’t remember… but we don’t declutter. Actually, we’re packrats. Actually, packrats think we need help. We have STUFF and we’re now having to decide what goes with us and what goes to the thrift shop. I can not tell you the van loads we have taken out of the house… and it’s still rather full!

This could be my best experience yet. You should see what I am getting rid of. Almost everything. Yes, even the collection of books. There is this neat thing called a library. San Diego has 34 of them. I think I’ll be okay. I did keep the Heinlein books though. I can’t quite part with everything. And my Coke bottle written in Hebrew. That stays too… oh yea, and my sudoku books too. Those stay. And the little knit pink booty, it’s too cute. Besides it is small. And I made it. Okay, so I have too much stuff still, but eventually I will have it together. I am working on learning what I REALLY need and what I want. And actually all I REALLY need is one outfit and my ATM card. But we’re not getting that drastic.

But as I am sorting, I am starting to wonder what the hell I was thinking when I saved all this stuff. What the hell am I going to do with 3 boxes of Montanian newspapers? When am I every going to read all the file folders (12 to be exact) of emails, letters and notes that people sent me. I read them once… am I really going to need them again? Why do I save all the odd socks? Why did I save pizza boxes (hey, they were clean!) and velcro that came off the shoes and why do I have an entire drawer full of nuts, bolts and screws? What am I going to do with all this stuff? Did I really plan on using all that? I mean, really, how many people have use for a box of pens that dried up? And why, oh WHY did we save that refridgerator compressor like some prize? Sure, each thing has a story and it’s all really fascinating, I’m sure, but we really don’t NEED this stuff. And I have appliances in the kitchen I forgot I had. Even worst, I have some in there that I didn’t even KNOW I had! Where did they come from anyway?

Well, the whole point of this is that we are still busily (is that a word?) packing and cleaning and I am finding it really silly about all the stuff we kept because we might use it someday.

Anyone need 3 left shoes?

I am that crazy lady that lives in the bell tower with all the bats. I keep blogging to keep what little sanity I have left.

Posted in Moving

Leave a Reply

December 2006
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 569 other followers

