No, we didn’t sail off the end of the planet

But trust me, it isn’t from a lack of trying. We went sailing out to sea about a month ago and I was the first one to puke my guts out! Yeah me! I took Sailing 101 and passed… but not before becoming the first “man overboard” (they yell that likes it’s a bad thing), running into the other student boat and crashing into the teacher’s boat. I did WAY better on the 22 foot boats instead of the dinghy’s. In fact, I’m willing to bet cold hard cash that is the reason I passed. Quarters anyone?

Well, today I am practicing being grateful. I found out this morning that my Grandma Foot died yesterday. I was devestated. I loved Grandma Foot. She was the coolest Grandma! I told the boys that she passed on and Lil Mendel dropped his pirate ships and crumbled into my lap and sobbed. Miles tried to be “cool” about it but eventually he ended up in tears too. I knew what dad was calling for, but I was so hoping he had other bad news instead. I can hope. But instead he told me what I expected to hear. As I was sitting in the main cabin crying, dh said that he was glad we moved out to California now. I thought about it and he finally just spelled it out for me. When someone is grieving, hints aren’t that great. Not that I take hints in teh first place. He said that if he weren’t out here, I would not have been able to see Grandma like I did last November and these last few months. So true! I never thought of it that way. I have never been really close to my family and before last November, I hadn’t seen Grandma in 17 years. This move to California gave me a chance to get to know Grandma better. I’ll miss her, but it eased the pain a little.

We decided to go sailing anyway today so Miles and I ran to West Marine for items and Dh and Lil Mendel stayed to rig up the lines and jib and do all the work. BUT we didn’t get to go sailing, because while I was backing out of my parking spot to leave, some guy backed into my car… ARGH! No one was hurt, except for the car. We were shaken, but that is all. So we spent the rest of the day fixing the tail lights, taking pictures (just in case) and calling the insurance company.

Okay, must go, hubby is talking pirate again and that turns me on.

I am that crazy lady that lives in the bell tower with all the bats. I keep blogging to keep what little sanity I have left.

Posted in car accident, Grandma Foot, Sailing

Leave a Reply

March 2007
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Apr »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 569 other followers

