Transformers- sneak preview!

Got your attention? It had mine too. We showed up over an hour early, had to park 2 blocks away and walk to the theater and then stood in line for 30 minutes to find out that all the seats were full. I was so pissed. But I decided to take the California attitude of “no worries” and took the boys to the Pizza Parlor. Pizza in California sucks, but not as bad as standing in the sun for 30 minutes to find out that you couldn’t get into a sneak preview.

We played air hockey and pool and pinball. Air hockey is oodles of fun, until your finger gets between the puck and the hitting thingy. What do they call that anyway? That HURTS! I can still feel it. I mean, poor Mendel… yea. Miles and I played pool our way. He got the 8 ball in so technically he lost. But since that was such a short game, we agreed to play until someone had all their balls in the pockets and had hit the cue ball in too. It was fun. Miles kept hitting the ball off the table Bahaha! Then we walked back to the car and went to Starbucks for coffee.

So I noticed that on the side of my Starbucks cup is the following quote:

The Way I See It #258

Because true conservatives are pessimists, they are happier than liberals, for three reasons. First, pessimists are rarely surprised. Second, when they are wrong they are delighted to be so. Third, pessimists do not put their faith in princes – in government. They understand that happiness is a function of fending for oneself. Happiness is an activity; it is inseparable from the pursuit of happiness.
George F. Will – Pulitzer Prize-winning author and columnist.

And apparently this man has not run into the conservatives I know. Although they are great people to borrow money from because they expect you will never pay them back… they are NOT the happiest people I know. In fact, they delight in telling you that you will burn in hell for being “wrong”… come to think of it, I can’t think of many conservatives who would even admit they are wrong. They tend to be happy because they are making everyone miserable. But hell, we are all human, right? Well, except for my mom, I think she fell off of Mars or something.

Conservatives, hell and crazy people aside, why is this on the side of my cup of coffee? I just wanted to drink my venti terrazzo filled to the syrup square, watered down to the shots square, whitened to the decaf square, sweetened with sugar and iced. I’m not too picky about it all. I mean, I just wanted to drink the damned cup of coffee without having to disagree or agree with the quote on the side of cup and then have to hunt down the HTML code so I could post it on this blog. So I read that it is a conversation starter. It’s meant to get people talking to each other. Are we so anti-social now that we have to have quotes plastered everywhere so we can start a conversation? Probably so.

Take the bus ride the other day. I was asking the bus driver how to get to the 923 route and he pointed to a sign. I thought it was going to be something like “get off at 3rd and Broadway” but it only had a hamburger and a drink in a circle with a slash through it and under it was “Food and Drink Prohibited” in English and Spanish. Couldn’t he just say “You can’t have your drink out, Ma’am, please put it up.”? No, he had to have a quote from the California department of transportation to help him.

I am not trying to be all social and start conversations. If I wanted to do that, I’d go on an internet chat room and start chatting with a bunch of abbreviations and misspelling words to make it faster and easier.

On Monday I am sailing from the ASW base to the south bay area where we will dock at The Cove for the next 13 days or so. If I don’t blog after that, then I probably sunk the boat Bahaha! I’ll send pictures.

Tomorrow we will be going to the theater to watch Shrek the 3rd. I’ve heard mixed reviews. I’ll let you know what I think when we get back. Probably in the evening though.

Tomorrow is also the FIRST DAY of JulNoWriMo! I am so darned excited!

I am that crazy lady that lives in the bell tower with all the bats. I keep blogging to keep what little sanity I have left.

Posted in Moan Groan Bitch and Complain, Opinions

Leave a Reply

June 2007
S M T W T F S
« May   Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 569 other followers

