Baton down the hatches! Here comes the rain!

Yesterday some of the people were near the Chandlery talking about the impending storm we are about to get. Being that I lived the last 10 years in Tennessee, my definition of “storm” is not the same as theirs. They said it was going to rain too. Being as I lived in Tennessee for the last decade, my definition of rain is not the same as theirs either. In Tennessee “storm” meant there would be “rain”. Here storm means there will be more than one cloud in the sky and rain has varying levels. It DID rain today though. Water actually fell from the sky for an entire 30 seconds. It was awful! I thought I was going to have to build an ark! And the “storm” has hit the marina. Yep, all the boats are swaying gently. Of course, I am used to “storm” meaning “pack up and go to another town to try and avoid tornadoes.” Storm here could also mean we might actually have wind! The differences are hilarious.

Rain, as said, comes in varying levels. There are those waterdrops that fill the air but never actually fall. It’s like mist, only called “rain”. Then there is the “rain” where the sidewalks become polka dotted with wet spots. Then there is the rain where you actually see more than 10 spots in a square inch. Then the rain where it actually looks like drizzle and lasts about 20 minutes. Then we move up to harder rains that last 20 minutes. The worst one I saw was somewhere in February, I think, where it rained heavily, water gushed in the drain pipes and the wind blew so hard it created white caps in the harbor. It lasted about an hour, maybe 2 hours. 

I can’t remember the last time I saw rain before the 30 second dribble this morning. Sometimes rain looks like someone sneezed on your windows. But anyway, when they rain here, I have to ask “what kind of rain?” Because the word “rain” is so vague out here.

Last January a lady, who grew up on the island, came to me and said “Better get out your heater. It’s going to get cold!” I was still in Tennessee mode where cold means “snow and frozen pipes” and where you can see your breath and you have to wear layers of clothes to keep warm. With this in mind, and a little worry, I asked “How cold?” She answered with a straight face “Oh Honey, it’s going to get down to the 50’s!” I kept my composer but laughed my butt off on the way back. Now, at night it did get chilly… but not COLD.

I still find it interesting that people are still warning me about the “cold” that hits here and how I will “climatize” to the area. I may adapt a little, but 50 degrees is still not cold. Light jacket at best, but other than that, it isn’t COLD.

I guess I’ll be off to enjoy my day resting on the boat in this terrible storm. Sunshine and all. Don’t worry, I’ll manage somehow!

I am that crazy lady that lives in the bell tower with all the bats. I keep blogging to keep what little sanity I have left.

Posted in weather
One comment on “Baton down the hatches! Here comes the rain!
  1. Traci says:

    I’m still waiting on the rains that we are supposed to get. You would not even believe how dry Tennessee is right now!

Leave a Reply

September 2007
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 569 other followers

