Melting Pot Cabbage Soup

My friend, Nikky, showed me how to make an incredible cabbage soup. I love it because you can switch it up easily to make a different soup each time. Here is the basis to it and then the recipe that I made.

Melting Pot Cabbage Soup

Start by chopping about a pound or two of meat into “stew” sized chunks. Ground meat works well too. Cook in a skillet with a bit of broth, water or cooking wine until cooked through.

Add chopped veggies to the cooking meat. I like to add onions and garlic. We’ve also added squash, eggplant, carrots, broccoli, celery or any other vegetables you like. Saute until almost tender.

Add two cans of cream of something soup or about 4 cups of spaghetti sauce. We’ve also added tomato sauce instead.

In a stock pot chop a head of cabbage into bite size pieces. I like to mix red and green cabbage but either one is okay. Add broth or water to it, just enough to cover the cabbage, and cook until tender.

Add the meat mixture to the cabbage mix and stir thoroughly. Add any seasoning you want. I like to add a bit of basil, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder and Italian seasoning. About two tablespoons for each seasoning is good for me.

When it is done simmering, you can add cheese, sour cream or cream cheese to add to it, or just eat it as it is.

One pot lasts us a couple days. I portion out the Melting Pot Cabbage Soup into ziplock containers so I can take some for lunch.

Here is the recipe I used to make it:
 In the skillet

Chicken, 1-1/2 pounds cubed.
1 large red onion, diced (I would have done more but I couldn’t open my eyes)
1 bag peas and carrots
1 jar Prego brand spaghetti sauce mushroom flavor
About 1/2 cup of Marsala cooking wine. 

In the stock pot
1/2 head of green cabbage
1/2 head of red cabbage
Mushroom broth, 1 box, Imagine brand
Enough water to fill the pot enough to cover the cabbage.
Then I added more cabbage until it heaped over the top of the pot.

I cooked it down some and then added
1/4 cup basil (The cap fell off while I was shaking it)

1 TBSP each: pepper, garlic powder and onion powder
2 TBSP Italian seasoning… I think… I might have added tarragon. I can’t remember.

I added the meat skillet mix to the stock pot slowly, stirring it in with every couple of ladle scoops. Once mixed, I let it sit and simmer for an hour or so (I was busy). Then portioned it out in my ziplock containers for work (3 containers, 1 for each day) and we ate the rest over 2 days.

If you try a variety of this dish that you like, let me know! I am always looking for new ideas.

If you try this recipe, leave a comment and let me know what you think!

For more recipes, click here.

I am that crazy lady that lives in the bell tower with all the bats. I keep blogging to keep what little sanity I have left.

Posted in Dotchi's Dishes, Soups and Stews

Leave a Reply

March 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 569 other followers

