Gluten Free Biscuits and Gravy

My sister in law, Tammy, made a comment on facebook about southern cooking and it really got me thinking. I found a gluten free biscuit I like but it would be even better smothered in gravy. Being allergic to wheat, I haven’t found any gravy I can have. I decided to try making a gravy but wasn’t sure how to start. Zack asked what I used for the biscuits and said “buckwheat oat flour”. He suggested I try starting with that. I played with it a bit and ended up with a really delicious biscuit and gravy. It was a touch sweet so next time I’ll try using buttermilk powder instead of powdered milk. Here’s the recipe:

Gluten Free Biscuits and Gravy
You will need:
1 recipe of Buckwheat Oat Amaranth Biscuits
4 TBSP bacon grease with no bits in it.
      (In theory, you can use olive oil, butter or some other grease. I will experiment with that later.)
2 TBSP Gluten Free Buckwheat Oat flour (mix 1 Tbsp Buckwheat flour and 1 TBSP GF Oat Flour)
1 TBSP Pepper
A dash of salt (or more to taste)
2 Cups milk (I used prepared powdered milk)
2 TBSP Arrowroot starch (for thickening)

Make the biscuits according to the recipe. They will be done before the gravy.

Gluten Free Gravy


Start a pan heating on medium heat.

Pour in the grease and let it heat til it’s nice an melted. Add the buckwheat oat flour and the salt and pepper. Stir and let it heat for a few minutes. I think I actually let it heat for 5 minutes. Usually I wait til the flour is browning nicely but since Buckwheat is a dark color I couldn’t really tell.

SLOWLY pour in the milk while stirring constantly to keep it from clumping. Keep stirring. It will start to thicken a little but mine was still very thin for a gravy. That’s when I got the idea to add arrowroot starch.

Take the arrowroot starch and put it in a small bowl. Add some gravy to the bowl and start stirring. Keep stirring until the lumps are all dissolved then pour the arrowroot starch mix into the pan while stirring constantly. It should thicken up pretty quick.

Remove from heat once it starts to thicken but continue stirring for about a minute.

Serve over the Buckwheat Oat Amaranth Biscuits and ENJOY!

For more recipes, click here.

I am that crazy lady that lives in the bell tower with all the bats. I keep blogging to keep what little sanity I have left.

Posted in Breakfast, Dotchi's Dishes, gluten-free

Leave a Reply

August 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Sep »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 569 other followers

