Better Blogging: Finding my niche, Checking out my Competition

Today on 31 Days to Building a Better Blog, I looked into the assignment of analyzing your blogs competition.  The first part was to make a list 10 blogs in your niche.  I got to thinking about it and I don’t know what my niche is as far as it goes with this blog.
Discovering my niche
The first thing I did was open my blog and figure out the topic of my blog posts.  Hmmm, there doesn’t seem to be much of a theme except for this month’s 31 Days to Better Blogging posts.  The rest are about parenting, homeschooling, traveling updates, photos, recipes, reviews, allergies, life as a CNA and article writing. 
Since I already have other blogs that cover the homeschooling and housekeeping, I can cross those off and use the Homeschool blog for co-parenting and homeschool information.  I can also add reviews to the appropriate blogs of whatever I am reviewing.
That still leaves many topics but I think I can work on narrowing it down a touch.  I’ll work on that niche thing over the next couple of weeks.  I plan on researching blog niches and see what I find.
Searching my popular posts
Two of my top ten posts are my Top 13 list of things.  Apparently, people really like lists.  I know I do!  Three are random pictures I have posted of things.  One is about my job and the other is about creating a household budget.  The other three posts are about random garble that I posted on various topics.  Surfing the internet at 41,000 feet, one about the world ending on May 21, 2011 and then house-sitting in the country.
Lists are on my things to blog about as is life as a CNA and photos.  I love photos!
Blog Competition?
I don’t know where to start when looking for competition for my blog.  I just don’t know.  If you have suggestions, I am all ears!
Question to my readers
If you all could be kind enough to drop me line, leave a comment, email or whatever…  I am wondering.
·                     What brings you to this blog?
·                     Are you coming back?  If so, what brings you back?  If not, why are not coming back?
·                     What do you find interesting on the blog?
·                     What would you change if it was your blog?
I’d love to hear from you!  Thanks so much for reading my blog.
I am that crazy lady that lives in the bell tower with all the bats. I keep blogging to keep what little sanity I have left.

Posted in 31 days to a better blog, Blogging
4 comments on “Better Blogging: Finding my niche, Checking out my Competition
  1. lily says:

    Hi Dotchi, I saw your query in the forum and thought I'd head over and take a look.

    Your sub title, 'blogging with reckless abandon' suits your blog, mainly as you write about a wide range of topics. (I especially like the post about your floor collasping) But I did find, as I continue to read, that I became a bit confused as to the nature of your blog as it merges so many different bits of information together, from family to recipes, to how to become a better blogger.

    I think that the 'Better Blogging' posts need to be seperated into a blog of it's own as it doesn't quite flow with the rest of what you write.

    I hope I haven't come across as rude and too critical because that was not my intention.

    Hell what do I know? I'm no expert myself. I'm not excatly Wordsworth.

    Oh and sorry about the long ramble. You now have permission to ignore everything I've just written lol. :0)

  2. Anonymous says:

    You commit an error. I can defend the position. Write to me in PM, we will discuss.

  3. Not offended at all! That is just what I was asking for, an honest opinion! I will definitely use your comments to help better my blog. I am thinking family oriented is just what my niche is all about. If I ignore the 31 days posts, it does fit.

    Thanks so much for the response 🙂

  4. Anonymous says:

    Howdy, I enjoy your work in this web site, you are giving good information with knowledge! This site is much enlightening!
    My name is Maggie, I was born on Manchester, so I am going to be a follower of this web page, My interests may not be in the best interest of everyone but I say them anyway I adore football as well as tv shows, and I also play a lot Muse on my roadtrips, I´m without boyfriend at the moment so boys watch out for me….just kidding :)! I once tried online dating it didn´t work out very well….
    I made this comment because as I previously mentioned I really enjoy this web site I also have a forum just like you, but mine is many different from yours, it is about free poker money….:)
    I will also apologize for my language it was the only way I get to talk with you guys….Kisses to you all, Bye bye

Leave a Reply

September 2011
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 569 other followers

