Turn Off the Facebook Ticker! I hate Facebook’s New Layout…

Facebook has really screwed up this time. The first thing I noticed, since I have ADD, is how ridiculous it is to have a ticker running your friends every move on Facebook right there in Facebook. That’s like building a Wal*Mart inside a Wal*Mart. Now while I am IN Facebook, I see everything that is happening every second scrolling down the right hand side of my screen. My ADD and that ticker are mortal enemies. I can’t freaking focus with it running all the updates. Before I could continue to analyze the Facebook layout, I HAD to figure out how to get rid of that feed!

Get Rid of the Facebook Ticker Sidebar! (one way)
  1. Download Google Chrome.
  2. Open chrome and click on the + for a new tab (at the top)
  3. On the new tab will be an icon for “web store”, Click it.
  4. On the top right corner is a search box. Type in “Get rid of facebook ticker” and hit enter.
  5. It will show several extensions that will kill that dang blasted Facebook sidebar that I hate so much!
  6. Once you find the one you like, click on “Add to Chrome”… wait for it to load and then go back to facebook.
  7. Refresh facebook and enjoy!
I am working on another blogger post about how to get your regular feed back. That’ll be later today. I am testing the instructions to make sure they are understandable.
In the meantime, Google Plus went live. Check it out! I am on there too and I like it pretty well.

P.S. No I am not giving up on Facebook… I am just waiting out the whole ARGH-ness of the new layout. I heard they are adding music… it better be optional or I am out of there.
I am that crazy lady that lives in the bell tower with all the bats. I keep blogging to keep what little sanity I have left.

Posted in Facebook, Opinions
7 comments on “Turn Off the Facebook Ticker! I hate Facebook’s New Layout…
  1. lily says:

    Having seen the new Facebook features, I am glad that my fb page isn't currently working properly…this has proven to be a good thing, as it's has halted the process of my throwing the sodding laptop down the stairs in frustration.

    Signed up to Google+ yesterday. Got all excited… then remembered I had no friends.

  2. Rob Z Tobor says:

    I only do my diary in FB but a repeated copy of what is in the Blog. In fact its the other way round as it happens. I only need to do words really as I have a problem with pictures. Its the old 1928 Box Browny it does not have a USB port.

    Anyway I dont want a posy FB, My friends and I like simple, so we can exchange a bit of happy banter and the odd cream cake.

    Hello by the way hope everyone is well

  3. Thanks for posting this! That FB Ticker was driving me nuts!

  4. Oh I know! Facebook is swirling the drain as far as I can tell. Many of my friends are leaving it because they can't stand the layout and it's so messed up now. Sad, b/c I really enjoyed facebook before the update.

  5. Anonymous says:

    brinkka2011 says: This was a genuinely extremely beneficial post. In theory I'd like to write like this also getting time and actual effort to make a good piece of writing but what can I say I procrastinate alot and by no means appear to obtain anything done.

  6. Oh I am the world's worst procrastinator. Just thought of a post for next next week to help you 🙂 I'll start on it and get it up there later 🙂

  7. Anonymous says:

    Keep up the excellent work fellow blogger, your tough work is definitly going to pay off.

Leave a Reply

September 2011
S M T W T F S
« Aug   Oct »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 569 other followers

