Back Update: Schmorl’s Nodes and a Chiropractor

After getting all of my medical records from the hospital to show the Chiropractor, I went home and started checking them out. I have an idea of what a spine is supposed to look like but I wasn’t too sure exactly what I was looking for. I did have fun finding the protruding disc though. FOUND IT! Not a problem! I also thought my back looked… erm, decrepit in some spots.

After that, I actually read every bit of the reports. I found it so interesting that before my injections, they don’t even mention arthritis and after the injections, now I have it from L3-S1. And S1 on the MRI does look quite gangly compared to the ones that are higher up. If I knew I’d get worse from the injections, I would have refused. 

Also, in one of the reports it says I have Schmorl’s nodes. I had to look that up. I have never heard of that. It made me think of smores roasting over a camp fire. Anyway, I looked that up and it’s basically (from what I am getting from around the web) where the disc protrudes into the vertebrae. They are “vertical disc herniations”. Ouches! 

I took this to the chiropractor since I stopped seeing Dr Quacky. The chiropractor is really good. I no longer feel like I have a rock under my spine when I lay down. Granted, my pain isn’t gone but it is tolerable half the time now. 

Also, he was looking over all the MRI and the X-rays and he said he had to disagree with the “No nerve impingement”. They claim I don’t have a pinched nerve. He thinks I do which explains the pissing myself. at least now I don’t have someone acting like they have no idea why I am having pain and issues. He did say the pain won’t ever go away but we can make it something I can live with. He did! 

The first treatment he slathered my back with BIOFREEZE. Holy burning eyes, menthol-man! That stuff is AWESOME! After he straightened out my pelvic bone (funny how that makes it feel like rocks under your spine) I was actually feeling quite human. The pain was still… well, pain, but I didn’t want to curl up and vomit from the pain. In fact, it’s been pretty okay. Sure, my back is killing me. But this is a level of killing me I can handle.

I have come to terms with the fact that I will never be pain-free. I am also slowly accepting the fact that I really will not ever go to work again. But at least I won’t be in agony all the time. I’ll take that!

I am that crazy lady that lives in the bell tower with all the bats. I keep blogging to keep what little sanity I have left.

Posted in back injury update
3 comments on “Back Update: Schmorl’s Nodes and a Chiropractor
  1. Anonymous says:

    Hi would you mind stating which blog platform you're working with? I'm going
    to start my own blog in the near future but I'm having a tough time making a decision between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I'm looking for something completely unique.
    P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to ask!
    My site :: best beat making software

  2. The therapist works with the patient's body through several positions and body movements that are effective in loosening up the muscle, nerves, tendons, and ligaments within the body. This in return results to more flexibility and better body condition. Similar with Acu-Yoga and Thai massage which uses passive yoga, Active Release Chiropractic technique also treats its patients with movements for a better blood flow and for convenience in releasing muscle tensions on soft tissues.

  3. Thanks for the reply! I am going to a chiropractor and I am seeing a lot of improvement. I can tell when I am not going because my back slowly gets worse. I definitely have to say that I love my chiropractor!

Leave a Reply

November 2012
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 569 other followers

