Out Of Milk App: Something Cool I Learned!

Disclaimer: I get paid nothing for this post. I just really like the Out Of Milk app. 

I have the app called Out of Milk on my tablet. I’ve had this on my android phone for a long time and when I got the tablet for Christmas, I added Out of Milk first thing because I use it so much. The two main features I use are sorting the shopping list by category to make my shopping go faster…

Screenshot_2015-01-03-23-32-48

You can see the categories in the Non Food Items list. If I added cat food to the list, I would put it under the “PET – CATS” category. Then when I go to buy cat stuff, I don’t have to scroll through the long list searching to see if there is some other cat item I need.

I also use the totaling function. It figures out the price you are going to pay (including tax!) so you don’t have to guess what you are going to spend when you are out.

Screenshot_2015-01-06-04-35-27

I do have items I don’t have a price for (like maple syrup in the photo above) but it’s easy enough to add the price to the list when I find maple syrup or just cross it off when I remember how expensive maple syrup is and decide to use honey instead.

The BEST Part: Add to recipe book and shopping list

I learned today that I can add recipes I find online to the shopping list or the recipe book in the app. On my android phone I never noticed this but on the tablet, I am more inclined to play around with the apps and press all the buttons. Here’s how to do it.

First, find a recipe that sounds good. I found this one for Blueberry Maple Refrigerator Oatmeal that I found in her collection of overnight oatmeal. There are other flavors too that you can find here and here, for a total of 14 flavors.

Screenshot_2015-01-06-03-56-30

This is what I see on my tablet

Then I click the three squares in the upper right hand corner and get this drop down where I pick “Share page”.

Screenshot_2015-01-06-03-56-39

Once I click that, another drop down menu comes up with “Add recipe to Out of Milk”. I select that option (there are a ton of options too, like email, pocket, Facebook, etc)

Screenshot_2015-01-06-03-56-49

When I select that option, I get this screen with the ingredients list and I check off what I don’t have.

Screenshot_2015-01-06-03-56-58

Then I can click the Add option and I can choose between adding it to my recipe book

Screenshot_2015-01-06-04-59-10

This is awesome because I am forever finding a recipe, adding the ingredients, and then forgetting which recipe it was and not being able to find the recipe ever again. Now, I have all the recipes I added ingredients to the list right in the app! You can see my list so far.

If I select “Add to shopping list”, I then get to pick which shopping I add it to. I have shopping lists for each store I shop at but I always start my items out on 1. Shopping List so I can sort the items later. I am a little OCD when it comes to shopping. I also have a Non Food Items list because I like to keep my food shopping separate so I can keep my food budget around $500. I can’t tell if it’s $500-ish if I have a bunch of other stuff on my list too.

Screenshot_2015-01-06-03-57-08

Once it adds the items to my shopping list, I go through and edit them to food items I can eat because of allergies.  For example, I would change the oats to “Gluten-free rolled oats” instead. If I can’t find chia seeds (which we have never tried), I would change it to flax-seed. “Skim milk” will become “So Delicious Coconut Milk” and so on.

Now, that I know this nifty feature, next months food list will be so easy to make and I won’t end up with random food I have no idea what they were for.

Happy Tuesday! I’ll see you again definitely on Saturday.

I am that crazy lady that lives in the bell tower with all the bats. I keep blogging to keep what little sanity I have left.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Breakfast, food, Food Stamps, Happiness

Leave a Reply

January 2015
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 569 other followers

